Aum named the 2023 Dacey Neurosurgeon Scholar 

The purpose of the award is to recognize and promote the development of a neurosurgery resident, as both an outstanding clinician and scientific investigator.

On Sept. 22, Diane Aum, MD, a PGY6 neurosurgery resident, was named the 2023 Dr. Ralph G. Dacey Neurosurgeon Scholar. The award was presented by Dr. Dacey, Dr. Joshua Osbun, Residency Program Director, and Chair Gregory J. Zipfel.  

For 30 years, Ralph G. Dacey, Jr., MD, served as the Chair of Neurosurgery and was a prolific and innovative physician-scientist at the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. He trained and mentored premier residents who became some of America’s foremost clinical and research neurosurgeons. 

Beginning in 2022, Dr. Dacey generously created an annual award to ensure that the School of Medicine continues to produce exceptional neurosurgical leaders.