Other Gliomas

What are other types of gliomas?

Call 314-362-3577 for Patient Appointments

Gliomas are tumors that arise from cells within the brain.  In contrast to glioblastomas, which are World Health Organization grade 4 tumors, these tumors are assessed from grades 1 to 3. Patients experience symptoms based on the location of the tumor. Most importantly, there are molecular features within each of these other types of gliomas that help to most accurately classify them, which is critical for treatment decisions. 

Other types of gliomas include:

  • Pilocytic astrocytoma
  • Diffuse astrocytoma
  • Anaplastic astrocytoma
  • Oligodendroglioma
  • Brain stem glioma
  • Ependymoma
  • Subependymoma
  • Glioneuronal tumors
  • Ganglioglioma
  • Ganglioneuroma
  • Dysembryoplastic neuroepithelial tumor (DNET or DNT)
  • Central neurocytoma
  • Pleiomorphic xanthoastrocytoma (PXA)

Why rely on Washington University to treat gliomas? 

Treating all types of gliomas requires an experienced team of neurosurgeons, medical and neuro-oncologists, radiation oncologists, and dedicated neuropathologists, all working closely together to provide the best treatment for each patient.  We take a highly multi-disciplinary and patient-centered approach to the treatment of these tumors within our Brain Tumor Program.  Every part of this approach—treatment, clinical trials, imaging and more—uses the latest technology and thinking.


Treatments for other gliomas at Washington University include the following